In Remembrance

I just caught the last 15 minutes of the BBC1 documentary programmes for Remembrance Week. I’m so glad they are broadcasting such programmes. It’s so easy to forget the sacrifice that men and women made for us, our country and our freedom. We can so quickly judge the way the country is being run, and don’t get me wrong I think there are a lot of things that are upside down with the world today, but look at how we live! We have no idea of the horrors of that era. The images shown and the reality of what went on all those years ago seems to be literally a life time since, but in the grand scheme of things I feel it isn’t really. Amélie bought a poppy the other day and I was trying to explain to her what it meant and why we have them. I’m going to make a conscious effort to teach the girls about the World Wars and what our troupes are doing right now in the hope that they won’t take our simple, easy and very privileged life for granted. 

 

As an added extra to my thought for today, I was reflecting on the information and accounts in the programme and what should I hear but ‘Free Falling’. This is the track that Richard recorded with Chris Egan at Abbey Road Studios at the beginning of the year. 

Watch the programme and you will hear it at the end of each episode or go listen and enjoy it again here…

http://www.audionetwork.com/production-music/free-falling_67315.aspx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

