Piano Time…

We are celebrating another exam success today. Freya is just 8 and took her first LCM Piano exam recently. Passing with a Distinction and wonderful feedback, I chatted to her about the process.

Out of the 4 main pieces, she enjoyed playing ‘Lord of The Dance’ the most. This surprised me as this was the one piece Freya battled with. In the few weeks running up to the exam she pulled out all the stops and it was lovely to hear her play it with confidence. When I asked her about it she said…

“It makes me smile. It wasn’t easy at first, but because I had to work hard on it I feel proud of myself. “

The practice process is always hard with everyone being so busy these days. The kids seem to have busier social lives than me! But I asked Freya about when she practices and this is what she told me…

“I played the harder pieces first so that when I was practicing, it felt like it got easier.”

I had never though about it this way but it’s a really interesting way of approaching practice times. I love learning from my students!

freya

So well done Freya and well done all those who have worked hard towards exams this year. Enjoy playing some Christmassy tunes now 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

